Gaga Stans at ATRL Take Notice!

Some Little Monsters over at ATRL have caught onto this site.

Given that most members of the Monster Cult do not have the capacity to reply to my long essay, this trite piece of nonsense is trotted out as a placeholder for argument:

Whoever runs this, clearly has too much time on their hands, and probably has no life….

As a college student on his winter break, I actually do have too much time on my hands, but I’m not sure why meticulously organizing a shrine to Lady Gaga online — see: GagaDaily — is more indicative of “having a life” than compiling information against her. The argument certainly can’t be, then, that I have “no life” because I choose to spend my time discussing the merits of pop stars. (That argument would be especially ludicrous coming from ATRL.)

No, the problem this Little Critter seems to have is that I’m dedicating my time to writing about something I dislike. Which is equally preposterous: people write articles opposing Sarah Palin, Barack Obama, Wal-Mart, Apple, or any number of things about our culture they have a problem with. Would anyone take a response to an article about Sarah Palin seriously if she said “Clearly, these haters have no life”? Give me a break! I’ve presented 4,000+ words (so far) worth of arguments against Lady Gaga. Nothing to say other than “Get a life, hater”? Because I’m not a hater. I’m not a delusional stan, which is why my arguments are so effective. I went to the Fame Ball tour; I requested her at the clubs, I freely admit that her music is great. I take an angle that’s more difficult to combat, and that’s what has Monster Cultists pressed.

Then, there’s this:

I don’t think I’ve seen such rivarly between fanbases before…. unless the Trekkies vs. Star Wars fans counts.

No. This is not a rivalry. This is about a fanbase that’s as arrogant as its leader: Britney Spears is an established icon who has been cranking out #1 hits since Lady Gaga was in high school. Lady Gaga has no more right to challenge Britney’s position than Britney does to challenge Madonna’s. Britney is the successor to Madonna and the definitive pop icon of the last fifteen years. Maybe Gaga will be the definitive pop icon of the current period. Maybe. She’s been around for two years. No matter how incredible you think she is, nobody who has been around for only two years can legitimately be called a pop icon.

That is all.

5 Comments

  1. Jayden James
    Posted January 2, 2011 at 2:37 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Let them talk !

    Joanne is probably a nice girl deep inside so I prefer to “hate” on her handlers who are forcing her to degrade herself in this industry.
    But I enjoy your writing and I think your post are really interesting.
    It permits me to put words on stuff I don’t like about the GaGa (which means “dumb/numb”) system and to be more aware. ^^

  2. Ken
    Posted January 8, 2011 at 12:28 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Quite frankly, you do seem to spend your life on hating someone and dedicating a virtual shrine to them. However you want to reason with it and stretch it’s meaning, in the end you are still far too obsessed on this woman and her fans to even comprehend that it doesn’t take an icon years to be created. You do not get to call out one who is an icon or not, the public and the media do. You’re just one person and, yes, you may have people who agree, but you’re outnumbered by the media itself. Also, in no way or form has GaGa said she is rivaling Britney, it’s something stans have created due to intimidation. In the end, it’s two artists who have a large fanbase and there will always be a problemaker, you sir/madam are this troublemaker. The media will say whatever to cause news, it’s people like you who choose to fall into their games and expand on it. This brings us back to square one, you’ve dedicated a whole site to hating on someone and it does make it look like you have no life whatsoever. I don’t know you, but I can already see you’re a person who has too much hate and time.

  3. LadyBritBrit
    Posted January 18, 2011 at 7:18 am | Permalink | Reply

    Do waht you do, Your putting your oppinion out there, it may be unpopular and it may be questionable, but you still have a right to put it out there.

  4. Gaga
    Posted February 8, 2011 at 11:22 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Given that most members of the Monster “Cult” do not give a damn about your blinded and twisted opinions, this trite site of nonsense is written out by a delusional Brit stan.

  5. Disappointed
    Posted May 3, 2011 at 8:23 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I was linked here and started reading your posts but all I’ve gotten is another Britney fan. I don’t like Gaga or Britney and the part that’s annoying is:

    “Lady Gaga has no more right to challenge Britney’s position than Britney does to challenge Madonna’s. Britney is the successor to Madonna and the definitive pop icon of the last fifteen years.”
    That’s a stupid argument on ‘pop music hierarchy’ and I can no longer take you seriously.

Leave a Reply

